Foundation Board

2021 Board Members

Mark Stivers, Board Chair:    Financial Planner with Money Concepts Capital Corp. and Benefit Planning, Inc.  Board member since 2017.  Mark enjoys hunting and mowing on his rural Shelby County farm.

Lauralee Samples, Board Member since 2017 is an Elementary Teacher and Stone’s Throw Farm consultant.  She has been a Parks enthusiast since planting the Sycamore tree in the Jim Fegenbush Arboretum (Clear Creek Park), circa 1990.

Dee Maynard, Board Secretary, Retired, known as “The Tennis Lady” around the Park.  Little known fact, our Shelby County  tennis programs have received national recognition!  Board member since 2015.

Christopher Dew, Board Treasurer, Chief Financial Officer, Citizens Union Bank.  Chris has  always enjoyed our park system, but now living along the Greenway trail the past few years has made him appreciate and experience it at a whole new level.  Board members since 2016.

Mimi Ward, Immediate Past Board Chair,  Nonprofit Consultant, Member Clear Creek Park Masters Swim team, All-American USA Triathlon Aquabiker.  Board member since 2014.

Jeanne Burnett is an Administrator for Associates in Pediatric Therapy and has called Shelby County home since 2005. Her park enthusiasm started as a young child with sports involvement. Now a busy mom of 4, her love for the outdoors and recreational activities has grown deeper.

William “Chris” Lyons is a graduate student at Kentucky State University pursing a Master of
Science in Environmental Studies set with a concentration in forestry and geographic
information systems.  Chris is a recent bone marrow transplant recipient, after being diagnosed in March 2019 with acute myeloid leukemia.  In his free time Chris enjoys hiking, identifying wildlife and local plants, and photography.

Jake Meeks is retired but not retiring.   He spends countless volunteer hours at Shelby Trails Horse Park.   

Kylee Palmer is a Program Manager with the Kentucky Cabinet for Economic Development.  She and her husband, Eric, are active members of our Parks community through camps and athletic programs for their daughters.

Clay Cottongin, Retired Parks Director, presently serves as volunteer Parks Consultant/Foundation Executive Director.  Clay provides oversight, guidance and Grant Writing for Greenway Trail and all other Park projects. He was inducted into the Kentucky Recreation & Parks Society Hall of Fame in 2012.